Skip to main content

Byron Community School District #226

2013 Inductees

The Byron School District is pleased to announce the Hall of Fame Class of 2013. A school board appointed committee received and reviewed many nominations from friends, family, & community members. After deliberation and voting, the committee produced a list of 12 inductees.

The Class of 2013 was introduced at halftime of our first home football game on Friday, September 6, 2013. In addition, an induction ceremony for

members of the Hall of Fame was held on Saturday, September, 7 at 7:00 p.m. in the Byron Forest Preserve Jarrett Center. [eBook-Brochure]

The 2013 members include:
  • 1948 Boys Basketball Team
  • 2000 State Champion Scholastic Bowl Team
  • David Beauchem – Track & Field State medalist; Cross Country state place winner; 3 time State Track & Field qualifier; member of ’85 3 rd place team; 2 time state cross country qualifier; Track & Field Collegiate Conference Champion
  • Troy Drake – All State Football and All State Basketball; as a member of the Indiana Hoosiers – Big Ten All Conference Defensive Lineman; Blue-Gray Collegiate All Star Football Game; 6 year NFL career
  • Roy Etnyre – 1928 BHS graduate; All State Track & Field selection; Collegiate member of World Record in 480yd hurdle shuttle; member of Univ. of Ill “I” Club
  • Jeff Gullett – 4 time All State Swimming; 10 time High School Swimming All American; High School US Open Qualifier; 2 time Big Ten Championships; Colorado State Masters Swimming Champion
  • Dale Hartman – Varsity Baseball Coach; record 314-147-1; member of the Illinois Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame
  • Bob Heidenreich – 1957 BHS Graduate; earned 11 varsity letters; held many records in 8 man football and track & field
  • Sean Lyons – Illinois Baseball Coaches Association All State member
  • Jimmy Marinelli – State Champion Wrestling ’02; All State selection; All State Golf selection
  • Jamie McCarty – State Champion Wrestling ’96, 3 time State qualifier, 3 time All state selection
  • Josh McCarty – State Champion Wrestling ’95, 2 time State qualifier, 2 time All State selection