Skip to main content

Byron Community School District #226


BYRON – Persons interested in seeking a position as a member of the Byron CUSD 226 Board of Education should obtain the necessary forms at the Ogle County Clerk’s office; 105 S. 5th Street, Suite 104, Oregon, IL 61061 or contact them at 815-732-1110 and request the County Clerk’s office to email the School Board Packet or contact the Byron Board of Education Recording Secretary, Mrs. Donna Dyal to email the School Board Packet.  The first day to circulate petitions is Tuesday, September 18, 2018.   Board of Education members do not receive payment for their services. Four positions will be open in April 2019; each position is a 4-year term.  The Board of Education consists of seven members currently:  Carol Nauman, Ed Clift, Christine Lynde, Phil Kesler, Jeff Milburn, D.J. Mumma and Kathi Gehrke.  The terms of Carol Nauman, Ed Clift, Phil Kesler and Kathi Gehrke expire in April 2019.  A minimum of 50 signatures, qualified voters residing within the District, is required for a candidate to file a petition.  Petitions must be filed with the Ogle County Clerk from Monday, December 10, 2018 from 8:30 a.m.– 4:30 p.m. through Monday, December 17, 2018, 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

In addition to the filing of the petitions, prospective candidates must complete, sign and have notarized a statement of candidacy, statement of economic interest and a loyalty oath.  The loyalty oath is optional.  Further information may be obtained by contacting the Ogle County Clerk’s Office at 815-732-1110.